Skip to main content

The Awards

Honoring Hoosier Authors

The Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards honor the best books written by Hoosier authors. Beginning in 2019, Indiana Humanities began administering the award as a biennial honor. Winners of the Indiana Authors Awards receive $5,000 and are invited to participate in a statewide speakers program. Additionally, winning authors have the opportunity to designate a $500 award to an Indiana library of their choice. For more information on the award categories, eligibility requirements and selection process, read the nomination guidelines

the Indiana Authors Awards honor books in the following categories every two years:





Middle Grade

Young Adult




Two additional awards recognize contributions to Indiana’s literary community and their legacy. Each award cycle, the Indiana Authors Awards will accept nominations for the Literary Champion award for contributions to the community of readers and writers in Indiana and the Lifetime Achievement award for an extraordinary body of work by a Hoosier author. 


Nominations for the 2024 Awards closed on January 12, 2024. Read the nomination guidelines for more details about the submission process.  



Books published between Jan. 1, 2022 and Dec. 31, 2023 are eligible for the 2024 Indiana Authors Awards.

Nominated authors should be current full or part-time residents of Indiana who have resided in the state for at least five (consecutive or non-consecutive) years. We will also consider books from authors with deep connections to the Hoosier State who might not currently live in the state. If you’re not a current resident, you’ll be asked upon applying to provide a description of why you consider yourself an Indiana author. Lifetime Achievement award nominees need not live in-state. For the Literary Champion award, special consideration is given to nominees currently living and working in Indiana. 

While awards are only given to authors with current residency or significant Indiana ties, the Indiana Authors Awards have great interest in sharing new books about Indiana. If you have a new book about Indiana that you would like to share for promotional purposes, please email

Selection process

Winning books will be selected by juries made up of three or more scholars, writers, subject matter experts and librarians. Juries have the option of making no award in a particular category.