Hoosier Writers to Speak Around the State and Offer Writing Workshops as Part of Indiana Authors Awards Programs

More than 30 organizations will host Indiana authors during 2022 as part of a statewide speakers program and writing workshop program offered through the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards. Category winners and shortlisted authors from the 2020 awards will visit communities virtually and in-person for the speaker program events to provide readings and discussions. Five communities will host Indiana authors for interactive workshops.

Indiana Humanities, the engine behind the Indiana Authors Awards, selected the hosts and provides support for award-winning Indiana authors to travel the state to speak to public audiences. The programs, open to public libraries, schools, churches, museums, community centers and other nonprofit organizations, are funded through the support of Glick Philanthropies. 

“We are thrilled to provide people all across the state with more access to Indiana’s most talented authors,” said Keira Amstutz, president and CEO of Indiana Humanities. “The generous support from Glick Philanthropies continues to provide more opportunities for Hoosiers to engage with literature written about and inspired by our state and to have thoughtful conversations about those works.”

Organizations hosting author talks are:

·       Attica Public Library, Attica (Author: John David Anderson)

·       Bartholomew County Public Library, Columbus (Author: Nancy Kriplen)

·       Brown County Public Library, Nashville (Author: Michael Homoya)

·       Calumet College of St. Joseph, Whiting (Author: Chantel Massey)

·       Cardinal Ritter High School, Indianapolis (Author: Annie Sullivan)

·       Carmel Clay Public Library, Carmel (Author: Eugene Gloria)

·       Culver-Union Township Public Library, Culver (Author: Larry Sweazy)

·       Fall Creek Intermediate School, Fishers (Author: Gabrielle Balkan)

·       Franklin County High School, Brookville (Author: Saundra Mitchell)

·       Friends of Potato Creek State Park, North Liberty (Author: Helen Frost)

·       Fulton County Public Library, Rochester (Author: Kevin McKelvey)

·       Greensburg-Decatur County Contractual Public Library, Greensburg (Author: Bill Sullivan)

·       Greentown Public Library, Greentown (Author: John David Anderson)

·       Hanover College, Hanover (Author: Debra Kang Dean)

·       Harrison County Public Library, Corydon (Author: Gabrielle Balkan)

·       Henry Henley Public Library, Carthage (Author: Bryan Furuness)

·       Hussey-Mayfield Memorial Public Library, Zionsville (Author: Michael Homoya)

·       Indianapolis Public Schools, Impact Academy, Indianapolis (Author: Maurice Broaddus)

·       Lake County Public Library, Merrillville (Author: Sharon Biggs Waller)

·       Middlebury Public Library, Middlebury (Author: Chris White)

·       Morrisson-Reeves Library, Richmond (Author: Maurice Broaddus)

·       Orange County Service Council, Paoli (Author: Robert Blaemire)

·       Pike County Public Library, Petersburg (Author: Katie Hesterman)

·       Rousseau McClellan School 91, Indianapolis (Author: Chantel Massey)

·       Southport High School, Southport (Authors: Maurice Broaddus, Sharon Biggs Waller)

·       Sycamore School, Indianapolis (Author: Katie Hesterman)

·       The Exchange at the Indianapolis Urban League, Indianapolis (Author: Robin Lee Lovelace)

·       Thorpe Creek Elementary, Fishers (Author: Helen Frost)

·       Vincennes University, Vincennes (Author: Axton Betz-Hamilton)

·       Walton Public Library, Walton (Author: John David Anderson)

·       Writers Guild at Bloomington (Author: Brian Leung)

Groups hosting writing workshops are:

·       Carmel Clay Public Library, Carmel (Author: Lydia Johnson)

·       Heartland Society of Women Writers, Indianapolis (Author: Ashley Mack-Jackson)

·       Heritage Christian School, Indianapolis (Author: Shari Wagner)

·       Indiana State Library / Indiana Center for the Book, Indianapolis (Author: Saundra Mitchell)

·       Jeffersonville Township Public Library, Jeffersonville (Author: Larry Sweazy)

·       Middlebury Public Library, Middlebury (Author: Alicia Rasley)

·       North Manchester Public Library, North Manchester (Author: John F. Allen)

In addition to paying the speakers’ fees, Indiana Humanities will provide participating organizations with resources such as a communications toolkit, press release template and graphics for social media promotion. Participating organizations are responsible for working with authors to schedule engagements and cover any travel expenses. Author events must be completed by Dec. 31, 2022. 

Dates, times and other details for the author talks and writing workshops will be announced later. Watch for more information at on our events page.