Skip to main content

Speakers Program

Want to host an Indiana author in your community? For nearly 10 years, Indiana Humanities’ Speakers Program has sent former and current Indiana Authors Award winners and finalists to organizations across Indiana for readings and discussions with local audiences.

2020 Speakers Program Hosts

Argos Public LibraryArgos Mike Mullin
Arsenal Technical High School Indianapolis Bill Kenley
Avon Middle School SouthAvonMike Mullin
Bartholomew County Public Library Columbus Barbara Shoup
Blue River Valley Jr. Sr. High School New CastleAdrian Matejka
Fairmount Public Library FairmountLori Rader-Day
Franklin College FranklinAdrian Matejka
Franklin County Public Library DistrictBrookvilleBryan Furuness
Greensburg-Decatur County Contractual Public Library Greensburg Michael Shelden
Hammond Public LibraryHammondEdward Kelsey Moore
Hussey-Mayfield Memorial Public Library ZionsvilleSandy Sasso
Indianapolis Public Schools, Impact Academy IndianapolisLaura Bates
Ivy Tech Community College North Meridian Library IndianapolisNorbert Krapf
Janus Developmental Services, Inc. NoblesvilleBryan Furuness
Jefferson County Public Library MadisonLori Rader-Day
Johnson Christian VillageBedfordRay Boomhower
Lawrence North High SchoolIndianapolisKelsey Timmerman
MCCSC Community Transitions Bloomington Sarah Gerkensmeyer
Meredith Nicholson School 96 IndianapolisJohn David Anderson
Middlebury Community Public Library MiddleburyJohn David Anderson
Mollie B. Hoover Elementary Crawfordsville Bill Kenley
Monticello-Union Township Public Library Monticello Sarah Gerkensmeyer
Newport Vermillion County Public Library NewportJohn David Anderson
Orange County Service Council PaoliLori Rader-Day
Orleans Public Library OrleansPhilip Gulley
Osgood Public LibraryOsgoodBarbara Shoup
Peabody Public LibraryColumbia CityKelsey Timmerman
Putnam County Public Library GreencastleSusan Neville
Sycamore Rehabilitation Services Danville Sarah Gerkensmeyer
Union City Public Library Union CityBarbara Shoup
Wabash College Lilly LibraryCrawfordsvilleSusan Neville
Western School CorporationRussiavilleMike Mullin
Westfield Washington Public LibraryWestfieldBryan Furuness

Are you hosting an author in 2020? Visit the resource page for the toolkit, logos and more!


Each year, nonprofits interested in bringing an Indiana Authors Award winner or finalist to their community can apply for funds to cover speaking fees as part of Indiana Humanities’ Novel Conversations Speakers Program. Libraries, schools, museums, historical societies, community centers, art groups, prisons and other nonprofits are eligible to take part.

Applications to host authors in 2020 are closed. Subscribe to the Indiana Authors Awards newsletter to be notified when applications open to host authors in 2021.

For more information, contact Bronwen Carlisle at or 317.638.1500.