More than 50 organizations to host writing workshops and author talks as part of Indiana Authors Awards programs

Support for Indiana Humanities program provided by Glick Philanthropies

Fifty-two organizations in more than 30 cities across the state will host Indiana authors during 2023 as part of a statewide speakers program and writing workshop program offered through the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards. Category winners and shortlisted authors from the 2022 awards season will visit communities virtually and in-person to provide readings and discussions. 

Indiana Humanities, the engine behind the Indiana Authors Awards, selected the hosts and provides support for award-winning Indiana authors to travel the state to speak to public audiences. The programs, open to public libraries, schools, churches, museums, community centers and other nonprofit organizations, are funded through the support of Glick Philanthropies.

“We are excited to continue offering Hoosiers with opportunities to meet and connect with Indiana’s most talented authors,” said Megan Telligman, director of programs at Indiana Humanities. “Thanks to continued support from Glick Philanthropies, more communities will have access to engage with literature written about and inspired by our state, which we hope inspires meaningful conversations.” 

Organizations hosting author talks are:

  • Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne (Author: Angela Jackson-Brown)
  • AMB Foundation, Evansville (Author: Tamara Winfrey Harris)
  • Center for Inquiry 2, Indianapolis (Author: Helen Frost)
  • Center for Inquiry 70, Indianapolis (Author: Kim Howard)
  • Clear Creek Elementary School, Bloomington (Author: Kim Howard)
  • Crown Point Community Library, Crown Point (Author: Jim Madison)
  • Franklin College, Franklin (Author: Angela Jackson-Brown)
  • Heartland Society of Women Writers, Indianapolis (Author: Marianne Boruch)
  • Highland Arts Council, Highland (Author: Michael Martone)
  • Highland High School, Highland (Author: Paul Allor)
  • Impact Academy, Indianapolis (Author: John David Anderson)
  • Indiana State Library, Indianapolis (Author: John David Anderson)
  • Indy Reads, Indianapolis (Author: Tamara Winfrey Harris)
  • LaGrange County Arts, LaGrange (Author: Judith Roth)
  • Liberty Elementary School, Liberty (Author: John David Anderson)
  • Maple Seeds Preschool Co-op, Indianapolis (Author: Rebecca Mullin)
  • Marquette Park Playground Committee, Gary (Author: Kenneth Kraegel)
  • Morrison-Reeves Library, Richmond (Author: Susan Neville)
  • MSD of Wayne Township, Indianapolis (Author: Rebecca Mullin)
  • Paragon Elementary School, Paragon (Author: Kim Howard)
  • Plainfield-Guilford Township Public Library, Plainfield (Author: John David Anderson)
  • Princeton Community Middle School, Princeton (Author: Laura Martin)
  • Shelby County Public Library, Shelbyville (Author: Paul Allor)
  • Sheridan Public Library, Sheridan (Author: Rob Harrell)
  • St. Joseph County Public Library, South Bend (Author: Ashley C. Ford)
  • The Community Learning Center, Kendallville (Author: Craig Fehrman)
  • Tri-North Middle School, Bloomington (Author: Laura Martin)
  • University of Southern Indiana, Evansville (Author: Craig Fehrman)
  • Valparaiso University, Valparaiso (Author: Rob Harrell)
  • Walton and Tipton Township Public Library, Walton (Author: Gabrielle Balkan)
  • Westchester Public Library, Chesterton (Author: Tyrone McKinley Freeman)
  • Writers Guild at Bloomington, Bloomington (Author: JL Kato)
  • Zionsville Middle School, Zionsville (Author: Laura Martin)

Organizations hosting writing workshops are:

  • Adams Public Library System, Geneva (Author: Shari Wagner)
  • ArtMix, Indianapolis (Author: Ashley Mack-Jackson)
  • Bloomfield-Eastern Greene County Public Library, Bloomfield (Author: Dave Griffith)
  • Bloomington High School South, Bloomington (Author: Kenneth Woods)
  • Brownsburg Public Library, Brownsburg (Author: Januarie York)
  • Christian Park School 82, Indianapolis (Author: Curtis Crisler)
  • Edison School of the Arts, Indianapolis (Author: Chantel Massey)
  • Floyd County Public Library, New Albany (Author: Lydia Johnson)
  • Forest Park Jr.-Sr. High School, Ferdinand (Author: Dave Griffith)
  • Franklin Central High School, Indianapolis (Author: Chantel Massey)
  • Franklin College, Franklin (Author: Saundra Mitchell)
  • Impact Academy, Indianapolis (Author: Kenneth Woods)
  • Indiana Connections Academy, Indianapolis (Author: Januarie York)
  • Indianapolis Public Library, Indianapolis (Author: Alicia Rasley)
  • Jeffersonville Township Public Library, Jeffersonville (Author: Kenneth Woods)
  • Lake County Public Library, Merrillville (Author: Samuel Love)
  • Midtown Indy, Inc., Indianapolis (Author: Januarie York)
  • Morrisson-Reeves Library, Richmond (Author: John F. Allen)
  • New Castle-Henry County Public Library, New Castle (Author: Larry Sweazy)
  • Pendelton Community Public Library, Pendelton (Author: Alicia Rasley)
  • The Franklin County Arts Council, Brookville (Author: Shari Wagner)
  • West Lafayette Public Library, West Lafayette (Author: Bryan Furuness)

In addition to paying the speakers’ fees, Indiana Humanities will provide participating organizations with resources such as a communications toolkit, press release template and graphics for social media promotion. 

Dates, times and other details for the author talks and writing workshops will be announced later. Watch for more information at