Skip to main content

Fiction Shortlist

We’re excited to announce the shortlist for the 2020 Indiana Authors Awards in the fiction category! Congratulations to the following Hoosier authors and their books: 

Opioid, Indiana

Brian Allen Carr, Franklin, for Opioid, Indiana, which follows a teen transplant to impoverished rural Indiana who searches for a job, the whereabouts of his drug-addicted guardian and the realities of modern America.

Do Not Go On

Bryan Furuness, Indianapolis, and a Butler University professor for Do Not Go On, a novel that’s part crime confessional and part coming-of-age tale and involves the Witness Protection Program, college application process and more.

Ivy vs. Dogg

Brian Leung, Lafayette, and a Purdue University professor, for Ivy vs. Dogg: With a Cast of Thousands!, about a small-town election, judgmental town committee, teenage pregnancy and … giant topiary.

the moon over wapakoneta

Michael Martone, who was born in Fort Wayne and now lives in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, for The Moon Over Wapakoneta: Fictions and Science Fictions from Indiana and Beyond, a collection of stories that showcases a love of obsolete technologies, small-town whimsy, home movies of proms and birthday parties, steam engines and baseball games.

Chris White, Bainbridge, and a DePauw University professor, for The Life List of Adrian Mandrick, about a pill-popping anesthesiologist and avid birder who embarks on a quest to find one of the world’s rarest species, allowing nothing to get in his way … until he’s confronted with his obsessions and what they’ve cost him.

Keep up with the other shortlist announcements here, and on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.