Indiana libraries receive $500 gifts, promotional materials from Indiana Authors Award winners

INDIANAPOLIS (Sept. 28, 2020) – Winners of the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards have chosen five Indiana libraries to receive $500 donations in their honor.

In addition to winning a $5,000 cash prize and a one-of-a-kind hand-crafted limestone award, the winning authors were each given the opportunity to make a $500 donation to an Indiana library of their choice. The libraries receiving donations, as well as the authors who selected them, are listed below.

Bartholomew County Public Library, Columbus – Melissa Stephenson
Indianapolis Public Library – Center for Black Literature and Culture – Maurice Broaddus
Indianapolis Public Library – Chris Gonzalez Collection – Saundra Mitchell
Putnam County Public Library, Greencastle – Eugene Gloria
Putnam County Public Library, Greencastle – Chris White
Speedway Public Library, Speedway – Phillip Hoose
Working Men’s Institute, New Harmony – James Still

In addition to receiving funding, these and more than 400 other libraries throughout the state will receive Indiana Authors Awards kits with posters, bookmarks and award stickers to use in displays to highlight the winning books and authors.

The Indiana Authors Awards are designed by Indiana Humanities with support from Glick Philanthropies.

“Even in an era of digital books and electronic media, libraries open doors to reading for many Hoosiers and allow us all to discover new worlds, ideas and perspectives,” said Marianne Glick, chair of the Glick Family Foundation and daughter of Eugene and Marilyn Glick. “We are thrilled to support the important work that libraries do, and to feed the appetites of readers throughout Indiana.”

On Sept. 1, the Indiana Authors Awards announced the eight books being recognized with awards in 2020. Chosen from among 35 shortlisted works, the winning submissions were written by a diverse collection of authors who all have deep connections to Indiana. To learn more, visit

# # #

About the Indiana Authors Awards
The Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards honor the best books written by Indiana authors. Awarded every two years, they celebrate Indiana writers, shine a light on the Hoosier state’s literary community and deepen connections between Indiana writers and readers. They were established in 2009 as a vision of Eugene and Marilyn Glick and are a new component of Indiana Humanities’ rich and diverse literary programming.

About Glick Philanthropies
Glick Philanthropies is a family of charitable initiatives, programs and organizations focused on building community and creating opportunity. Together, Glick Philanthropies strives to strengthen the quality of life in central Indiana and in communities where Gene B. Glick Company properties are located to ensure that people in those local communities can reach their full potential and lead lives of dignity. Glick Philanthropies includes the Glick Family Foundation, Glick Family Housing Foundation, Glick Fund at Central Indiana Community Foundation (CICF), and Glick Fund at the Jewish Federation of Greater Indianapolis (JFGI). Since 1982, Glick Philanthropies has awarded over $150 million to charitable causes and has led a transformative effort to improve education and economic opportunity on Indianapolis’ far eastside where the Gene B. Glick Company was originally headquartered. Learn more at

About Indiana Humanities
Indiana Humanities connects people, opens minds and enriches lives by creating and facilitating programs that encourage people to think, read and talk. Learn more at

Contact information: 
Kristen Fuhs Wells, Vice President, Indiana Humanities