Nonprofits can apply to bring award-winning Indiana authors to their community for talks, writing workshops

INDIANAPOLIS (Oct. 5, 2020)—Nonprofits interested in bringing an award-winning Indiana author to their community to speak to or give a writing workshop for a public audience can apply for funds to cover speaking fees as part of programs associated with the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards. Events can be in-person or virtual. 

Indiana Humanities will select up to 30 host organizations for speaking engagements and up to 10 for writing workshops. The programs, open to public libraries, schools, churches, museums, community centers, prisons and other nonprofit organizations, are funded through the support of Glick Philanthropies.  

The Indiana Authors Awards Speaker Program features winning and shortlisted authors from the 2020 round of the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards. This year’s speaker participants are: 

  • Lindsey Alexander, poetry shortlist honoree 
  • Crystal Allen, children’s shortlist honoree 
  • John David Anderson, children’s shortlist honoree 
  • Gabrielle Balkan, children’s shortlist honoree 
  • Axton Betz-Hamilton, nonfiction shortlist honoree 
  • Robert Blaemire, nonfiction shortlist honoree 
  • Maurice Broaddus, genre winner 
  • Callista Buchen, poetry shortlist honoree 
  • Debra Kang Dean, poetry shortlist honoree 
  • Helen Frost, children’s shortlist honoree 
  • Bryan Furuness, fiction shortlist honoree 
  • Eugene Gloria, poetry winner 
  • Katie Hesterman, emerging shortlist honoree 
  • Michael Homoya, children’s shortlist honoree 
  • Sofi Keren, emerging and genre shortlist honoree 
  • Nancy Kriplen, nonfiction shortlist honoree 
  • Brian Leung, fiction shortlist honoree 
  • Robin Lee Lovelace, emerging shortlist honoree 
  • Michael Martone, fiction shortlist honoree 
  • Chantel Massey, emerging shortlist honoree 
  • Kevin McKelvey, poetry shortlist honoree 
  • Saundra Mitchell, young adult winner 
  • Melissa Stephenson, emerging winner and nonfiction shortlist honoree 
  • James Still, drama winner 
  • Annie Sullivan, emerging shortlist honoree 
  • Bill Sullivan, nonfiction shortlist honoree 
  • Larry Sweazy, genre shortlist honoree 
  • Shari Wagner, poetry shortlist honoree 
  • Sharon Biggs Waller, young adult shortlist honoree 
  • Chris White, fiction winner 

This years’ Indiana Authors Awards Writing Workshop leaders and their genres are:  

  • Callista Buchen, poetry 
  • Jennifer Ann Coffeen, romance 
  • Bryan Furuness, fiction 
  • Dave Griffith, all genres 
  • Samuel Love, creative nonfiction 
  • Saundra Mitchell, fiction 
  • Alicia Rasley, fiction 
  • Larry Sweazy, fiction 
  • Shari Wagner, poetry 

Application guidelines, author bios and session overviews are available at Organizations select their top three author/topic choices and are matched by Indiana Humanities. The deadline to apply is Nov. 20, 2020.  

In addition to paying the speakers’ fees, Indiana Humanities will provide participating organizations with resources such as a communications toolkit, press release template and graphics for social media promotion. Participating organizations are responsible for working with authors to schedule engagements and cover any travel expenses. Author events must be completed by Dec. 31, 2021. 

“This is a great opportunity to introduce more readers to the quality of writing that’s being done by Hoosier authors and to inspire the next generation of writers,” said Keira Amstutz, president and CEO of Indiana Humanities. “We’re thankful to Glick Philanthropies for continuing to help connect more authors to more readers.” 

About the Indiana Authors Awards 
The Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana Authors Awards honor the best books written by Indiana authors. Awarded every two years, they celebrate Indiana writers, shine a light on the Hoosier state’s literary community and deepen connections between Indiana writers and readers. They were established in 2009 as a vision of Eugene and Marilyn Glick and are a new component of Indiana Humanities’ rich and diverse literary programming. 

About Glick Philanthropies  
Glick Philanthropies is a family of charitable initiatives, programs and organizations focused on building community and creating opportunity. Together, Glick Philanthropies strives to strengthen the quality of life in central Indiana and in communities where Gene B. Glick Company properties are located to ensure that people in those local communities can reach their full potential and lead lives of dignity. Glick Philanthropies includes the Glick Family Foundation, Glick Family Housing Foundation, Glick Fund at Central Indiana Community Foundation (CICF) and Glick Fund at the Jewish Federation of Greater Indianapolis (JFGI). Since 1982, Glick Philanthropies has awarded over $150 million to charitable causes and has led a transformative effort to improve education and economic opportunity on Indianapolis’ far eastside where the Gene B. Glick Company was originally headquartered. Learn more at

About Indiana Humanities  
Indiana Humanities connects people, opens minds and enriches lives by creating and facilitating programs that encourage people to think, read and talk. Learn more at  

Contact information:  
Kristen Fuhs Wells, Vice President, Indiana Humanities